Interview with Dicey Grenor!

 

 

 Image

Hey all! I got the chance to sit down with Dicey Grenor, author of the Narcoleptic Vampire series. I love vamps of course and her series is definitely one that you don’t want to miss. Get to know Dicey Grenor!

 

 

T.P. Miller: Okay before we start the interview tell us a little bit about yourself as an author, and what you like to do? I look for stories and characters that are outside the norm and write about them. I like to write off-the-wall stuff. I like to read risqué works from other authors as well. I also like movies and TV. Many of my writing muses are actors.

 

Dicey Grenor: Where are you from? North Carolina, originally. Currently, Houston, Texas.

 

T.P.: Do you have a specific writing style?

 

Dicey: I stick to the most basic way of telling the craziest stories. I call it my “bare bones, choppy style” of writing. I leave off flowery prose and seek to describe scenes in the fewest words possible.

 

T.P.: If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?

 

Dicey: I can’t really say that I have a mentor. I have watched J.R. Ward’s interviews on Youtube and decided to adopt her writing discipline. I have watched and read Stephenie Meyer’s interviews and let her words inspire me to write my own books. I have had email correspondence with Larissa Ione and Jasmine Haynes and taken their advice about how to deal with criticism in this industry. I’ve followed Charlaine Harris’s angst surrounding the release of her latest novel and learned how to treat the ending of a series. On a regular basis, I give and receive support from a host of indie authors including J.L. McCoy, Alesha Escobar, Julia E. Antoine, and many, many more. Collectively, they all “mentor” me.                                                                             

 

T.P.: How long have you been writing?

 

Dicey: Since 2009. Shameful (Taboo) was my first novel.

 

T.P.: How did you decide on what genre you wanted to write in?

 

Dicey: Based on the books I love to read, except without the formulas.

 

T.P.: What inspired you to write?

 

Dicey: Reading books that I loved and thinking I wanted to see some diversity in the characters, more adult themes, and boldness to go where people are afraid to go.

 

T.P.: What book are you reading now?

 

Dicey: Rapture (#4 Fallen Angels series) by J.R. Ward.

 

T.P.: Who are your favorite authors?

 

Dicey: The ones listed above and Shelly Laurenston AKA G.A. Aiken, Anne Rice, Eric Jerome Dickey…too many to name, really.

 

T.P.: How did you feel when you completed your first book?

 

 Dicey: Accomplished. Many people talk about writing a book. I did more than talk about it.

 

T.P.: Please list the titles of your books.

 

Dicey: Shameful (Taboo), Sleepy Willow’s Bonded Soul (The Narcoleptic Vampire Series #1), Sleepy Willow’s Heartless Soul (The Narcoleptic Vampire Series #2), Sleepy Willow’s Loosed Soul (The Narcoleptic Vampire Series #3), Zeek’s Loving Thorn (A Novella of The Narcoleptic Vampire Series #3.1), and How to Have a Perfect Marriage (Dark comedy novelette).

 

T.P.: Where is your favorite place to write?

 

Dicey: In my home on the couch in front of the muted TV.

 

T.P.: Are your books self-published?

 

Dicey: Yes

 

T.P.: Where can readers purchase your books?

 

Dicey: Amazon.com or from my website.

 

T.P.: If someone wanted an autographed copy how can they get it?

 

Dicey: Email me at author@diceygrenorbooks for autographed paperback copies. Send me a request via authorgraph.com for autographed ebooks.

 

T.P.: How can your readers get in contact with you?

 

Dicey: Email: author@diceygrenorbooks.com or attygreennorris@att.net or send me a Facebook message: www.facebook.com/DiceyGrenor.

 

T.P.: When did you first consider yourself a writer?

 

Dicey: When I was a young child.

 

T.P.: Tell us your latest news?

 

Dicey: I will be a guest at Houston’s Comicpalooza: The Texas International Comic Con, May 24th-26th. I’m pretty excited about it.

 

T.P.: Can you share a little of your current work if any?

 

Dicey: I’m writing another novel in The Narcoleptic Vampire Series that features one of my fan-favorite werewolf characters. It will be out later this year.

 

T.P.: What do you want to say to your readers?

 

Dicey: “I love you to pieces. Thanks for reading my books.”

 

T.P.: Do you have any advice for aspiring writers?

 

Dicey: Keep writing.

 

 

THANK YOU so much, Dicey for stopping  by and letting the readers get to know you. You can pick up any of Dicey’s book on Kindle and on her website, so please go check out the rest of  her series!

 

Image Growing up in a small North Carolina town gave Dicey plenty of time to dream of Hollywood and vampires. She loved escaping in great movies and fiction books, and discovered she wasn’t bad at writing either. But she didn’t think that was going to pay the bills or that anyone would take her seriously.

So she graduated high school, college and graduate school, then moved to Texas for law school. After getting married and having two babies, she decided it was past time to start doing what she was passionate about.

Now that she’s a wife, mother, attorney and published author, she feels thrilled and fulfilled.

5 thoughts on “Interview with Dicey Grenor!

  1. Diceyblog says:

    Thank you for the interview, Vampyre Queen!

  2. You’re so welcome!! Really enjoyed it!

  3. Great interview! Thanks for the shout out, Dicey. Folks, her books are an amazing blend of humor, the supernatural, a twisted plot, and compelling characters. Oh yes, and let’s not forget the daring and sexy 🙂

  4. Ju Ephraime says:

    Hey, Dicey, Thanks for the shout out. I really enjoy “meeting” you and take pleasure in everything you do. I know you’ll become a famous author one day, because you are an excellent writer and great story teller–two requirements for success!

  5. Glad you two enjoyed! She really is great!

Leave a comment